STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C9-81-1206

Order Amending Minnesota Rules Relating to Registration of Attorneys

WHEREAS, the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board filed a petition on January 13, 1984, requesting amendments to Minnesota Rules Relating to Registration of Attorneys;

WHEREAS, the text of the proposed amendments was ordered to be published in the Supreme Court edition of Finance and Commerce, the St. Paul Legal Ledger, and Bench and Bar;

WHEREAS, the Minnesota State Bar Association filed a resolution dated July 13, 1984, on behalf of its membership in support of the proposed amendments;

WHEREAS, on July 24, 1984, the Supreme Court held a public hearing regarding the proposed amendments;

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court considered such amendments at a meeting on July 24, 1984, and has given due consideration to such amendments;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the attached amendments be adopted, effective with attorney registration payments due on and after October 1, 1984.

Dated: July 25, 1984.

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS FILED BY THE COURT:

JUL 2 51984

WAYNE TSCH!MPERLE CLERK

Chief Justice

## RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigations for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such admission, with exceptions hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereafter annually pay to the clerk of the supreme court a registration fee in the sum of 6½xty-six Eighty-two (666-00) (\$82.00) or in such lesser sum as the Court may annually hereafter determine.

Such fee, or a portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April, July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the supreme court.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows:
\$7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners
\$5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal

Education

\$54:00 \$70.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of fwenty-three Twenty-seven Dollars (\$23-00):

- (a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within this state;
- (b) Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years;
- (c) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces

## of the United States;

The Twenty-three <u>Twenty-seven</u> Dollars (\$23-00) (\$27.00) so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$7.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners
\$5.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal
Education

\$11.00 \$15.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, and who files annually with the clerk of the supreme court an affidavit that he is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the supreme court and pay the annual registration fee.

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually with the clerk of the supreme court an affidavit that he is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the supreme court and pay the annual registration fee.